Weather in Sydney in January 2018

Check the weather in Sydney in January based on long-term weather averages before you book your next holiday to New South Wales in 2018. Expect daytime temperatures to reach 26°C with on average 7 hours of sunshine per day in Sydney in January.

What is the weather like in Sydney in January?
How hot is Sydney in January? 26°C
How sunny is Sydney in January? 7 sunshine hours/day
How wet is Sydney in January? 124 mm rainfall
How warm is the sea around Sydney in January? 22°C

Weather in Sydney in January

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec All months

  • 26°C maximum daytime temperature in January in Sydney26
    26°C max day temperature
  • 7 hours of sunshine per day (51% of daylight hours) in January in Sydney7
    7 hours of sunshine per day
  • 12 days with some rainfall in January in Sydney12
    12 days with some rainfall
  • 19°C minimum night-time temperature in January in Sydney19
    19°C min night temperature
  • 14 hours of daylight per day in January in Sydney14
    14 hours of daylight per day
  • Low heat & humidity in January in SydneyL
    Low heat & humidity
  • 124 mm monthly rainfall in January in Sydney124
    124 mm of monthly rainfall
  • UV (maximum) index 11+ (Extreme) in January in Sydney11
    11+ (Extreme) UV index
  • 22°C sea temperature in January in Sydney22
    22°C sea temperature

Metric (°C / mm)  |  Imperial (°F / inches)

  • Pay now online & save up to 20% on Budget car hire
  • Discounts vary by selected locations worldwide
  • Including mainland France, Germany, Italy, Spain & UK

More about Sydney

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec All months

More about Sydney weather in January

The average maximum daytime temperature in Sydney in January is a warm 26°C (79°F) with low heat & humidity. There are usually 7 hours of bright sunshine each day, which represents 51% of the 14 hours of daylight. The average sea temperature in and around Sydney in January is 22°C (72°F).

Expect 124mm (4.9 inches) of rainfall across the whole of January with 12 days with some rain falling. Maximum UV levels will be extreme (11+ UV index) at midday when the skies are clear. The average night-time temperature is usually a comfortable 19°C (66°F). The weather in Sydney in January is represented by Sydney.

Sydney sunrise & sunset times for January 2018

Browse the sunrise & sunset times for Sydney in January 2018. Select a month to view Sydney sunrise & sunset times for the next twelve months.

JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec

Date Sunrise times Sunset times
Monday, 1st January 2018 05:48 20:09
Tuesday, 2nd January 2018 05:48 20:10
Wednesday, 3rd January 2018 05:49 20:10
Thursday, 4th January 2018 05:50 20:10
Friday, 5th January 2018 05:51 20:10
Saturday, 6th January 2018 05:51 20:10
Sunday, 7th January 2018 05:52 20:10
Monday, 8th January 2018 05:53 20:10
Tuesday, 9th January 2018 05:54 20:10
Wednesday, 10th January 2018 05:55 20:10
Thursday, 11th January 2018 05:56 20:10
Friday, 12th January 2018 05:57 20:10
Saturday, 13th January 2018 05:58 20:09
Sunday, 14th January 2018 05:59 20:09
Monday, 15th January 2018 05:59 20:09
Tuesday, 16th January 2018 06:00 20:09
Wednesday, 17th January 2018 06:01 20:08
Thursday, 18th January 2018 06:02 20:08
Friday, 19th January 2018 06:03 20:08
Saturday, 20th January 2018 06:04 20:07
Sunday, 21st January 2018 06:05 20:07
Monday, 22nd January 2018 06:06 20:07
Tuesday, 23rd January 2018 06:07 20:06
Wednesday, 24th January 2018 06:08 20:06
Thursday, 25th January 2018 06:09 20:05
Friday, 26th January 2018 06:10 20:04
Saturday, 27th January 2018 06:11 20:04
Sunday, 28th January 2018 06:12 20:03
Monday, 29th January 2018 06:13 20:03
Tuesday, 30th January 2018 06:14 20:02
Wednesday, 31st January 2018 06:15 20:01
  • Book tours & holidays to Australia with G Adventures
  • Tour prices start from just £269 per person
  • Filter holidays by date, price, activity, duration & difficulty

Back to top

Sydney weather by month

Check Sydney weather for a particular month by selecting from the list below. Monthly weather guides include figures for temperature, rainfall, sunshine hours and sea temperature plus daily sunrise & sunset times.

Back to top

More New South Wales destinations

All destinations (A to Z)

Can't see your chosen destination? Use our A to Z search to find your required the holiday weather guide:

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  

More destinations

Related posts

Popular travel offers

Top ^